How To: Prevent People from Tagging You in Photos on Twitter

Prevent People from Tagging You in Photos on Twitter

Twitter recently announced that "photos just got more social," introducing a new feature that lets people tag you in pictures. You can tag up to 10 people in an image, and users will receive notifications when they're tagged in photos.

But not everyone wants to be tagged. Whether it's for reasons of privacy or vanity, there's nothing wrong with not wanting your name displayed next to every photo of you on the internet. So, here's how to disable the new feature on your Twitter account.

Disable Photo Tagging on the Web App

Go to Twitter on your computer and login to your account. Click on cog icon in the top right corner and choose Settings from the drop-down menu.

Then go to Security and privacy on the left.

Under Privacy, select Do not allow people to tag me in photos if you want to disable tagging altogether.

You can also choose Only allow people I follow to tag me in photos if you just want to limit the feature.

Now, just scroll down and Save the changes and you're all set.

Disable Photo Tagging on iOS Apps

If you're on an iPad, iPhone, or iPod touch, just go to your Me tab, hit the cog icon, and tap on Settings. Then, select which account you want to disable photo-tagging for.

On the next page, tap on Photo tagging under the Privacy section, then make sure it's turned off (not green).

Disable Photo Tagging on the Android App

For most Android devices, this process will be pretty much the same. Just hit the three-dot icon in the top-right and hit Settings, then select your preferred Twitter account.

Then just scroll down to the Other section and tap on Who can tag me in photos, then select Off and you're done.

What do you think about Twitter's new photo tagging feature? Fun, or just plain annoying? Let us know in the comments.

Be the First to Comment

Share Your Thoughts

  • Hot
  • Latest